What a difference a day (or two) makes

I have been assiduously putting in my hours with the Siemens Reflex L, as instructed, and now that the initial shock has worn off I am absolutely amazed at a. what I can hear and b. how quickly you do actually adjust to what sounded absolutely horrible just a few days ago. I had no expectations that a hearing aid would work for me and even though I don’t know whether it’ll cope in my work environment yet, it’s brilliant in the house. I can hear the phone ring from another room, and can hear so much more of what is being said on the telly.

At the weekend, lots of people were out sledging in the park opposite and I was absolutely staggered by what I could hear. Children’s voices, dogs barking, ambulance sirens way in the distance. Just ordinary stuff, but WOW. We’ve lived opposite that park for seven years and I’ve never heard any voices come out of it before. I was rooted to the spot for ages, just listening.

The soundscape was so evocative that it transported me straight back to my desk at school, hearing children in the playground and wishing I was outside. I realise now that I haven’t heard that kind of sound for a long, long time.

0 Responses to “What a difference a day (or two) makes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 159,687 hits

