Dilemma

Was getting ready to do interviews for the new intake of students in the luxurious surroundings of the photography seminar room. It’s about 10 feet by 6 feet, but they’ve got an Ikea sofa and a coffee maker in there to make up for it. The temperature was about 500ºC with the morning sun shining in, so my colleague switched on the extraction fan. The effect was instant. My interview partner now sounded like a dalek talking down a cardboard tube and the familiar whistling in the lughole was back. Hmmm…could this be related to the whistling problems in the studio?

I now had a dilemma on my hands: boil alive or ditch the hearing aid. But first, I needed to conduct another experiment to check that the fan was indeed the culprit. It was. Unfortunately the switch to turn it off turns off the ventilation for the entire photography department. Another dilemma. An image flashed through my mind of the scene in the Arnold Schwarzenegger film ‘Total Recall’, where the air supply for the occupants of the Mars space station is deliberately turned off by the evil Cohaagen. I pictured the poor photography students writhing on the floor clutching at their throats with their eyes popping out of their heads. Me hearing or them suffocating? I weighed it up. The interview room is smaller than a postage stamp, so I reckoned if I reverted to my pre-hearing aid listening pose of bending double in my seat, arms folded into the stomach, neck craned out at right angles to the spine, hearing would be fine. I could even throw in some sagely nodding if the going got tough. Downside was I’d look like I had appendicitis, but nothing new there. Just as I was about to consign the Siemens to the handbag, my much less indecisive colleague enthusiastically flicked the OFF switch to the ventilation.

Everyone survived.


1 Response to “Dilemma”


  1. 1 not quite like beethoven March 6, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Only in the face of fateful choices do we rise and become all we can be. Even if we have co-workers who ruin the effect.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

