Water Palaver

It’s been a watery old week. It started with a drainpipe in the ceiling suddenly bursting on my head during an evening of merriment in one of Glasgow’s finest hostelries. It could have sprayed any of the hundred non-hearing aid wearers in the place with dubious looking brown water, but as always in any bad scenario with less than a one percent chance of being struck, I was the chosen one. As everyone else in the vicinity ran screaming from the foul cascade, the people at the next table assured me that there were no toilets on the floor above. Little did they know that, as I wrung out my jacket, amoebic dysentery was the least of my problems where the valuable on-loan piece of NHS equipment behind my left lug was concerned. Fortunately, the Siemens escaped unscathed, having been shielded from the worst by my unique frizzy coiffure.

Later in the week, as I indulged in another sudden but transient bout of hormonal self-expression, the following long-forgotten poem sprung into my mind:

When you are crying

and you are lying,

the tears

get in your ears.


I got the hearing aid out just in time.

2 Responses to “Water Palaver”


  1. 1 Wendy April 3, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Hello,
    My name is Wendy Davies and I am the Head of Audiology at Siemens Hearing Instruments so have read your blog with some interest. I am glad the Reflex L has been of some help and would to like to offer further assistance if you are still having any problems.
    We do not see patients directly frpom Siemens but could attend an appointment with you at your local audiology clinic – my contact is wendy.davies@siemens.com


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,324 hits

