Back to the drawing board

I dunno, the things I think about at four in the morning...

I dunno, the things I think about at four in the morning…

deaf-ringers-still

Yesterday’s audiological optimism was extremely short-lived. I wondered where my footsteps had gone as I walked down the corridor on my way out of the hospital, and once I got home and turned the telly on, it was rather apparent that despite John’s best efforts yesterday, any remaining amplification in the ever shrinking bands available for voices had gone too. I reminisced briefly over the giddy excitement of turning the tv down for the first time ever after first getting the Siemens in January, and then promptly went into a petulant sulk which lasted for most of the evening.

The students are on holiday but I thought I’d give it a second chance this morning. Sadly the boiling kettle no longer sounds like a DC-10 taking off, the children’s voices in the playground opposite are gone, the office clock is silent and the computer keys don’t rattle cheerily any more. A brief accidental burst of the fire alarm didn’t even wake my beige bte friend from its slumbers, so me and it have parted company for the first time in three months.

On the upside, I’ve got somewhere to tuck my unruly tufts of hair once again.

3 Responses to “Back to the drawing board”


  1. 1 not quite like beethoven March 24, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    I would so love to see that movie on the big screen! Love the cast, too. As for the rest, I hope that won’t be the end of it.

  2. 2 Secret Agent March 24, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Awesome, this is a real film, yes? Your powers of pastiche/parody are at their highest…

  3. 3 moiradancer March 24, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I have to say I’m proud of the all-star cast. Jeremy Irons nearly got the audiologist part, but I couldn’t imagine him whistling with quite the same menacing vigour as Robin Williams.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

