Doppelgangers Agogo

Me and Schubert were having a nice train journey to work this morning, when I spotted someone further up the carriage who looked very like my brother. The resemblance was quite uncanny and I gave him a thorough eyeballing as he read his newspaper, just to make sure it actually wasn’t him. Some sixth sense eventually caused the brother imposter to look up, so I quickly averted my roving eyes to avoid detection. I wasn’t quite quick enough, though, and it was now his turn to stare at me. I wondered if he was thinking that I looked a bit like his sister. An inner voice said helpfully, “No, he just thinks you’re a weirdo” and I was forced to stare intently out the window for the rest of the journey to prove that I wasn’t.

As I got off the train, I cringed at the memory of another case of mistaken identity earlier in the week, at a conference. On that occasion, I had introduced myself a little over-enthusiastically to a puzzled, shaven-headed bespectacled man whose name badge said David, after mistaking him for the shaven-headed bespectacled keynote speaker, whose name badge also said David. If I hadn’t told him how wonderful his speech was I might just have got away with it.

As I walked through the station, mind elsewhere, my eyeballs were now on autopilot, but had decided of their own accord to fixate on a well-dressed blonde woman standing outside a shop. She looks kind of familiar, I thought. Yes, she looks a bit like Catherine in the design office. What a co-incidence. Funny that, all these lookalikes one after the other. The woman waved and I turned round to see who she was waving at. Maybe she thinks I look a bit like someone she knows, too, wouldn’t that be funny? She waved again and shouted something and, just that little bit too late to stop, I suddenly realised that it actually was Catherine from the design office.

Roll on the weekend, I think I must be a bit tired.

1 Response to “Doppelgangers Agogo”


  1. 1 kentigern April 27, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    But it was me………I just couldn’t work why you were on my train with Franz Schubert


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,345 hits

