It’s a scorcher

By Scottish standards this weekend has been a scorcher, and a thin white stripe on my lobster neck is the price for wearing a necklace and not wearing suntan cream on a walk to the beach.

When the spouse and I to set off for the Isle of Bute on Friday it was with the double mission of having a proper shower and a dose of sunshine, in that order. We got the shower, but disappointingly, we awoke early on Saturday morning not to the anticipated spectacular sunrise over the Firth of Clyde, but to a ground-glass viewfinder scene of freezing fog. A couple of hours later, though, the fog was beginning to clear and hazy sunshine sparkled on the milky water. As the local shop opening time approached, the senior residents of Kilchattan Bay were on the move.

“Did you hear the foghorn this morning?” said a passing neighbour as we sipped tea on the front doorstep. “It went on for hours, I couldn’t get back to sleep. Very unusual, everyone’s talking about it.”

They did away with foghorns years ago, I thought, I remembered hearing about it on a tv documentary. As I weighed up whether it was too much whisky the night before or a strange communal form of tinnitus, the spouse joined in enthusiastically.

“Yes,” he said, “I couldn’t sleep either. It was coming from a ship. Very atmospheric…I thought they had done away with foghorns.”

I must have been asleep, I deduced.


2 Responses to “It’s a scorcher”


  1. 1 kentigern May 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

    I was over in West Kilsheuchie and walked out to Farland Head early Saturday morn. Red neck also!!!!!!

    The horn stopped about 11.20 as I was just about to time the blast intervals, why I cant recall but it seemed important at the time. There was still a bit of fog around Wee Cumbrae, from whence I thought the horn emanated, but the mainland was clear early doors.

    • 2 moiradancer May 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Must send you the pics, it was all highly atmospheric. It’s a shame that the foghorns have all been shut down, I remember we used to hear the one on the Wee Cumbrae all the time in our youth. Must dig out John Carpenter’s ‘The Fog’ for you and Kentigerna’s forthcoming visit to the bay. If the weather’s bad, you can jump out on her with a hook and your Captain Haddock outfit on for a bit of excitement


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 161,637 hits

