Logging Out

Above: Ever wondered what people got up to before the internet was invented?

Following a discussion this morning, the spouse is looking forward to observing the effects of my online umbilical being cut, when we head off for a few days to the wireless-free Buteshack.

“That’s just like you,” he said accusingly, waving a recent Guardian article which says that UK housewives spend 47% of their leisure time online.

“I don’t know how you make that out,” I snorted. “a. I’m not a housewife, and b. I spend at least 97% of my leisure time online. My activities bring joy to the blogosphere and there are at least three people out there who would agree.” I was forced to cease my statistical elaborations at that point, because I felt my joy to the blogosphere argument could be undermined by mentioning the severe disappointment a visit to these pages can bring to anyone searching for useful information on cookie bite hearing loss, the Siemens Reflex L and/ or biscuit recipes.

There then followed a heated debate about how long I will be able to survive on Bute without internet access. The spouse reckons it will be no more than 48 hours before I am found dishevelled in a dustbin with the laptop, desperately scanning the airwaves for signs of an unsecured wireless network.

Hmmm…

0 Responses to “Logging Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,418 hits

