Hearing aid maintenance for beginners

Behind the scenes at the hearing aid clinic

Went on a grand day out yesterday to a series of talks by three very interesting and entertaining artists. There was lovely scenery to look at, lots of nice people to talk to and best of all, fantastic home-made cakes at lunchtime. The scenery posed no problem at all, but all the talking and the eating of the cakes and sandwiches brought a return of Norman Collier broken microphone syndrome to the hearing aid, which kept capriciously popping out the lughole with every jaw movement. I was glad that I was not wearing my glasses, because keeping the right index finger on the bridge of the nose and the left on the tube of the hearing aid would have caused problems with holding my plate of nosh, as well as looking slightly peculiar.

When I got back home, I braced myself and phoned the hearing aid clinic to ask how often you’re meant to change the domes and did they supply them. Three or four times a year came the reply and yes they supply them. Do I need to make an appointment for that I asked, hoping I didn’t. Yes came the reply…with the enigmatic caveat ‘if you want us to do it’. I couldn’t work out what the alternative option might be, but a vision of being accosted by a shady character with the inside of his raincoat lined with knockoff 8mm hearing aid domes flashed disturbingly through my mind. To be on the safe side and to avoid showing my ignorance, I just made an appointment. When I see them in a couple of weeks, I can’t wait to enquire about the daring business of going it alone with dome replacement in future.

3 Responses to “Hearing aid maintenance for beginners”


  1. 1 Merry July 16, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Hi Moira, I am an audiologist at Boys Town National Research Hospital in Omaha, NE, USA. I have been following your blog for the past several years and always get a chuckle out of your posts. You are very insightful and have a wonderful way of including humor in the everyday happenings of living with hearing loss. I am wondering if I could use this hearing aid maintenance image you created in a presentation? It is for an educational series of lectures designed to help educate professionals working with children who are Deaf or hard of hearing (https://www.boystownhospital.org/hearingservices/EducationalOutreach/Pages/NutsAndBolts.aspx). I can follow-up with more information via email, if preferred. Thank you for your consideration!
    -Merry Spratford, AuD

    • 2 moiradancer July 19, 2015 at 1:38 pm

      Hi Merry, thanks for your comment, and I’m pleased you’ve been enjoying the blog over the years. That’s absolutely fine to use the image for educational purposes, and I hope all goes well with the lectures.


  1. 1 Hearing Aid Out | My Hearing Loss Experience Trackback on March 31, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 161,638 hits

