Diamonds are a girl’s best friend

Diamonds: almost as expensive as hearing aids…

At my visit to clinic O last week, I was successfully redomed and retubed, and given enough batteries to keep me at bay for at least a year.

On my return home, now that audiologist eyes were safely out of the way for a while, I decided it was time to add a bit of glamour to the Chroma S with some diamanté bling from the art shop. Mindful of being sued by the NHS for wilful damage to their property, I identified suitably safe spots for my self-adhesive jewels to go. I fancied an eyecatching row of diamanté along the top, but once I had taken into account the programming socket, battery flap, programme button and microphone which all needed to be kept clear, I was left with a 3mm square area on the side to decorate. Never mind, I thought, that’s perfect for a single sparkly diamond. Tastefully restrained against the beige, too.

Unfortunately, it would appear that the NHS is one step ahead of self-adhesive saboteurs like me, because it’s a right bugger getting anything to adhere to the mysterious non-stick coating. I managed it in the end, though.

18 Responses to “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend”


  1. 1 Clara December 14, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I’m busy going through a similar experience, I’m a Siemens Reflex wearer from the Edinburgh side and I have discovered first hand the different types of damage that each sort of glue does to one of these hearing aids. Interesting experiment, but not one I wish to repeat! The NHS did get there first, though, my new hearing aids were all faulty *before* I went at them with a glue gun. Since I have audio shoes on mine I have a much wider area to stick my sparklies onto, and having written this I’ve discovered I cannot upload the photo! Ah shoot.

    Hopefully this link will work out:
    IMAG0056.jpg

    No, don’t panic, my tubes don’t really stick out at that angle, I moved it around to make the R ear pose for the photo.

    • 2 moiradancer December 14, 2010 at 1:51 pm

      Hi Clara,

      nice to hear from you. So nice, in fact, that I shall have to work out how to activate the ‘recent comments’ thing in the sidebar so that everyone else can enjoy your comments as much as I have! Thanks for the photo, that’s quality bling work there. I agree that glue guns are not for the faint hearted and I chickened out and went down the self-adhesive road instead. The audio shoes are a triumph in providing that vital extra surface area needed to make up for all the little beige trapdoors, microphone holes, etc which can come between a gal and her jewels. Mind you, if there was on ‘on/off’ switch in there as well, I’d be prepared to sacrifice a jewel or two for that, it took me two days to work out how to switch the damn thing off, and it still takes two hands and brute force to do it when it’s on the lug. At least the bling provides something to get a grip of!

  2. 3 Clara March 11, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Hmm, notify me of follow-up comments via email was a roaring success!! Oh well, I lost the link and now I can’t remember what other comments I added.

    I do hope your Siemens rep is the same as mine, they are coming to hammer the hospital in due course to see if they can finally lay to rest the dying wasp in my hearing aids, and what joy if they will just change them for something else.

    Now I’m off through the rest of the blog to find the other comments I left. Oh for a memory aid too!

    • 4 moiradancer March 12, 2011 at 1:32 pm

      Yay, Clara you’re back! It’s taken me over a year to even discover the existence of the follow-up comment notification facility, so you’re still one step ahead of me 🙂

      Hope you get some joy when the Siemens reps come in, if they can’t kill your wasp, nobody can, and who knows you might be lucky enough to get an upgrade. Having that noise going on for all this time must be driving you nuts. I was nothing short of euphoric when I was cured of my feedback woes, and delighted to discover that the insertion of a REM probe can actually be painless.

      Good luck and sock it to ’em, let us know how you get on!

  3. 5 Clara March 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I might also add that Nucleus (maker of Cochlear Implants) manufactures a great range of implant bling. What joy if NHS departments could sell similar products to this: http://www.connevans.co.uk/store/viewProduct.do?id=3027980

    At a few quid a side I’d take a handful for every occasion, they could be sold at the battery desk with funds going to prop up more essential services. And we would be free, free from the beige.

    Meanwhile, since I have such a good stock of defunct hearing aids on which to practice, this is my latest experiment in decorating plastic craft film. Decorate, wrap, heat seal, then carefully cut out for all the flaps and microphone. Can be removed completely without any sign it was ever there, but it does get totally ruined when you cut it off, so not worth investing time and money until such time as I stop going through hearing aids at the rate of 6 a year.

    http://flickr.com/gp/roserodent/G41zv6

    • 6 moiradancer March 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      Wow, the implant bling is great, it would be so simple to adapt that idea to fit our little beige friends, and you’re just the woman to do it. Just think…people who get issued NHS aids in strange bright colours and see-through finishes could buy themselves a wee beige cover for that more classic look.

      Your shrink wrap idea is great, although I’d hate to have to explain a melted Chroma S at the hearing aid clinic if it went horribly wrong…

  4. 7 Clara March 15, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Ah, worry ye not, I can mail you a binbag full of defunct Reflex Ms for practice. 😉

    I am trying to find the company which professionaly shrink-wraps technology, but I’ve lost the details. Once again I found it through a CI site – newsflash industry, if CI wearers want nice things and bling, so do we!!

  5. 8 moiradancer March 17, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Imagine Clara…just imagine:

    http://www.empor.co.uk/samples.htm

    If they can do a welding helmet, they can do a hearing aid.

    If I can find two spare minutes in the next few days, I will resurrect an abandoned Kookybite Innovation which is a slightly, ahem, lo-tech version

  6. 9 Clara March 17, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I have sent off for some http://www.craftcellar.co.uk/contents/en-uk/d98_friendly_plastic.html to do some practice, and if it seems liekly to work I will get one of my more arty friends to make the final model. In my situation I need soemthing that I can slip on and off when I have to have my hearing aids replaced!

  7. 10 cyborg in a field March 19, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Check this oot.

    http://www.skinit.com/

  8. 12 Clara March 20, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Yes! That’s the one I saw before.

    OK, you must excuse the fact that this is a rough prototype and the piece of plastic was ruined for me by my daughter coming and pulling me away by teh hand when I was 99.9% finished and just dropped it briefly in water to mould, the whole thing melted! But you get the general idea. Based on the Processor covers above, here is a very, very rough moulding of one for a reflex:

    http://flickr.com/gp/roserodent/38N0h3
    http://flickr.com/gp/roserodent/L952AV

    I shall be having another go with a nice colour when my daughter is safely tucked away. You can un-beigify in seconds, hurrah!

    • 13 moiradancer March 20, 2011 at 10:42 am

      That looks like it should work a treat, I’d never heard of Friendly Plastic before, but feel a visit to ye olde art shoppe coming on. I spent yesterday making an adornment from embossing foil and Japanese paper cos I don’t have a mould to work from and am terrified of inadvertently knackering the Chroma S. The finished product looks quite nice, but wouldn’t last long in the non-stop Glasgow rain. And it’s almost totally hidden by my giant left ear…

  9. 14 Clara March 20, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Incidentally, if you fancy paying a fortune for a piece of material which will then cover up all your controls you can get these:
    http://www.connevans.co.uk/store/viewProduct.do?id=1116555 and
    http://www.connevans.co.uk/store/viewCategory.do?id=1233614

    but as ever they are designed with children in mind, pick a program and stick with it, and don’t need a battery change, or indeed the “off” setting at any point. D’oh!

    • 16 moiradancer March 24, 2011 at 11:02 pm

      Those are fab Clara! Love the iridescent sparkly finish, and the fact that they’ll stay put. I stuck one of my one-sided papery efforts on with a bit of double-sided tape for a glamour night out, but it was in my hair before I got through the front door…

  10. 17 Michelle December 15, 2011 at 4:21 am

    I have added diamantes to my head piece part of my cochlear, I figure it isn’t much different than wearing a hair clip so why not pretty it up!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

