It’s always safest to ask

As we leafed through the newspapers in bed this morning, the spouse turned to me with a faraway look in his eyes and said,

“Would you like a Benson sausage?”

What the heck is that I thought. The butcher’s name is Cranston.

“Is that some kind of euphemism?” I asked, hoping it wasn’t since I had a bit of a headache.

“Eh?” said the spouse. “Do you want one or not, make up your mind, I’m getting hungry.”

Relieved that we were, indeed, talking about food, I asked cautiously “What’s a Benson sausage?” I was worried it might be another of the spouse’s experimental forays into oddly flavoured bangers, like the pork and apple ones that tasted of car air freshener.

“VENISON SAUSAGE. I SAID VENISON.” groaned the spouse.

2 Responses to “It’s always safest to ask”


  1. 1 Deirdre September 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    That’s the best one yet, best laugh of the week!!

    We have had pork and apple and no hint of air freshener in ours, they were lovely.

    De xx

  2. 2 moiradancer September 12, 2010 at 9:42 am

    I think ours were Sainsbury’s ‘Taste the Difference’ sausages, and we certainly could…

    Catch up with you soon!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 161,637 hits

