A Grand Entrance

Ever since my father took a sledgehammer to my beloved H. Lange & Co. of Magdeburg upright piano back in 1982, after an argument over whose turn it was to do the washing up, I have longed for the day when I could get another one. My trusty first-generation digital Clavinova with its handy headphones has served me well through several flat shares and removals over the last twenty years, but you can’t beat the sound of the real thing, no matter how out of tune and crappy the instrument.

It was with great envy, then, that I spied this baby grand being delivered to another flat along the road this morning. Envy that they had a nice acoustic piano, and even more envy that they had the confidence to play it in a tenement flat, where the sound of a pin dropping can bring an Anti-Social Behaviour Order from the neighbours. Our own upstairs neighbour has commented with concern many times on how she can hear us talking, although funnily enough, she did say it was only the spouse’s voice that she hears.

I cast my mind back to our own removal seven years ago, where the sight of even a digital piano was enough to cause panic amongst our new neighbours. The cheery removal men decided to add to it by doing their well worn comedy routine of shouting loudly up the stairwell

“Stevie…STEVIE…HUV YE GOT THE DRUM KIT OOT THE VAN YET?”

As I watched today’s removal men attaching the ropes to lug the ten ton beast up the front steps, my envy was tinged with a certain amount of relief that it was not coming to our address, just in case the owner was conscientious in practising his or her scales. For the sake of the removal men, I also hoped that the pianist’s front steps were not in the same perilous state of undiscovered pre-collapse as ours.

 

2 Responses to “A Grand Entrance”


  1. 1 not quite like beethoven December 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    They do come in handy, those sledgehammers, when decisions are called for. I’ve got to give your father that.

    • 2 moiradancer December 11, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      I’ve always felt he showed a remarkable amount of restraint by warning me to get up off the piano stool while he went to fetch the hammer. Just as well I did what I was told that time…


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 159,566 hits

