She Nose, You Know

My cold has finally left me, and not a moment too soon. As I seated myself at the computer at home this morning, my newly restored sense of smell detected a slight whiff of fishy mustiness. After establishing that it was definitely not coming from me, I followed my nose around the room, and ended up staring at the ceiling. Had I been adopting the reflective practices of the the illustrious Herr Not Quite Like Beethoven, who has taken to examining the world most insightfully from a recumbent position lately, my eyes might have ended up on the ceiling slightly sooner.

Unfortunately, the sight that met them was a big brown wet patch from what turned out to be the leaked contents of the upstairs neighbour’s dishwasher. Cripes, how did I not see that before, I thought. Knowing that gravity is a powerful force, I now looked downwards and spotted a matching big brown wet patch on the cream carpet. Mmmm, I thought, that matches the big brown wet patch on the spouse’s study ceiling and the small brown wet patch in the kitchen ceiling from last month’s toilet episodes upstairs. Co-ordinated decor at last.

Since bad things come in threes, we’ve hopefully reached our quota of plumbing incidents now.

2 Responses to “She Nose, You Know”


  1. 1 not quite like beethoven January 22, 2011 at 9:38 am

    With incidents like this one, it seems as if one could not look at the ceiling too much. šŸ˜‰

  2. 2 moiradancer January 22, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I shall get my own back this afternoon, by treating the neighbours to an impromptu organ recital, followed by a long conversation with the spouse from another room.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,324 hits

