Kookybite Innovation #4

When John the helpful audiologist laid my Siemens Reflex L to rest and tried out a Chroma S instead, I was delighted when a silver blob emerged from the box instead of a beige one. Having ascertained that the Chroma S was going to be the answer to all my problems, he then disappeared off to the mysterious NHS hearing aid cupboard, saying “Now that we know it works, I’ll get you a beige one”. My silent “Noooooooooo!” echoed down the corridor, and I deduced that the dispensing guidelines must be silver for the boys and beige for the girls.

Clara (see comments) is working tirelessly on behalf of the gals to transform her beige ear gear into a riot of colour, but just in case something goes wrong with her pioneering techniques, these stickers with attitude could come in handy.

6 Responses to “Kookybite Innovation #4”


  1. 1 Clara March 20, 2011 at 8:38 am

    What slays me is private hearing aids for resale on eBay and people have CHOSEN THEM BEIGE!!! Someone even went for the swish Phonak Audeo Yes that have won design awards for their innovative shapes and colours, and pic ked beige!

    A profoundly deaf friend of mine was hounded by her clinic to try ever louder hearing aids and cochlear implants and one day she went and tried a pair then had to come back in 4 weeks to pick them up. They kept contacting her to say they didn’t have them yet, and eventually when she went to pick them up they explained that it had taken ages to get them because the manufacturer didn’t normally make them in beige and they’d sent nice ones twice, they’d specially returned them to get them beige for her – which she not only didn’t ask for, beige isn’t skin colour on her, she’s black. What colour had they returned twice? Black and silver – DOH!

    I’m taking the crusade with NHS Lothian just now as apparently the rules say a choice of colour must be offered “where available” and I say if they are taking special steps to prevent them from becoming available (ordering 100% beige) then that’s not quite in the spirit of the rules. We shall see!

    • 2 moiradancer March 20, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      Blimey, your friend must have been delighted to be a beige CI pioneer…not! That must be the only case where it would have been safer to have had no choice available at all.

      Now, with regard to NHS Lothian, be careful what you wish for…where will all your creative skills go if you get a pair of new-fangled snazzy aids? 🙂

  2. 3 Peggy January 24, 2012 at 2:32 am

    I absolutely love these stickers – brilliant!

    I’m not going to have the beige problem if I ever get hearing aids because I have to pay for the damn things entirely myself. Canada does have a healthcare system which would cover (up to a certain amount) hearing aids, but apparently I’m just not deaf enough to qualify. I think I’d like black, although my skin tone is boringly beige.

    • 4 Carl Green January 24, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Peggy I’m in Canada too. What province are you in? I’m in Ontario and I didn’t know that you had to be a certain deafness to qualify! Yikes I am deafer than I thought? hehe

      • 5 Peggy January 25, 2012 at 2:21 am

        Carl, I’m in Quebec (Montreal). Minus 35 db in your good ear is what you have to have. I’m off by a couple of decibels. Maybe it differs province to province? Do you have cookie bite loss?

    • 6 moiradancer January 24, 2012 at 5:58 pm

      Ha! So I have failed to convert you to beige…give it time Peggy, give it time…


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,480 hits

