Kookybite Innovation #5

Oh dear, me and Katy Perry have just spent too many enforced train journeys together this week for my liking…

2 Responses to “Kookybite Innovation #5”


  1. 1 Mary April 21, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Hello there – are you Moira?
    Well, anyway, I just wanted to leave a short note to tell you that I was feeling quite down and sorry for myself after coming home from the audiologist today, and in doing some web searches on cookie bite / reverse slope hearing loss, I found your site. It really cheered me up! So thank you for all the joy and laughter you’ve infused into your blog.

    The Kookybite Innovation #5 was quite hilarious. Will have to search for the previous 4 innovations….

    I am curious to ask you about your hearing loss and its cause, if you don’t mind. The doctors always ask me if I have any relatives with hearing loss, as this type is often genetic, and I don’t. At least none that I know of. Was your hearing loss adult onset? Mine didn’t start until I was 40, and has now progressed to severe levels. You can write me directly to my email.
    Take care,
    Mary

    • 2 moiradancer April 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Hi Mary,

      really nice to hear from you, and that’s a very great compliment to say that my ramblings cheered you up after what sounds like a very dispiriting visit to the audiologist.

      My hearing loss is mild, bilateral and ‘probably congenital’. I wasn’t aware of it until a year and a half ago, but when I look back some of the signs were definitely there from my early 30s (I’ll be 45 next month). Like you, I don’t seem to have any relatives who have hearing loss. I felt that my hearing in one ear had gone suddenly, which was what took me to the doctor, but I was told by the ENT consultant that my type of hearing loss was a ‘creaking gate just waiting to fall off its hinges, you just don’t know when it’s going to fall off’. I didn’t find this a particularly reassuring analogy, since he didn’t explain whether my ears are currently merely ‘creaking’ or whether they’ve fallen off their hinges and won’t fall any further!

      I’d be really interested to hear about your experiences Mary, I’ll drop you an email later today.

      Moira


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 160,861 hits

