Stand Well Back

The optician pulled out my notes as I took my seat for a routine lens check this morning, and I noticed that the word DANGER was written assertively in giant letters along the top. The cheeky sods! That eye infection had cleared up weeks ago and there was no way I needed to be treated as an optical Typhoid Mary at this stage. In an undercover display of fake nonchalance, I leant a bit closer and stared a bit harder to make sure they hadn’t mixed my notes up with somebody else’s again. They hadn’t. I was actually looking at my married surname, Dancer. Phew. I was silently reflecting on how people can’t write properly these days as well as not speaking properly, when I was interrupted by an invitation to read the chart.

“Vision still okay with the lenses?” said the optician hopefully.

“Yes, perfect thank you”, I replied haughtily, not mentioning my inability to distinguish a capital G from a capital C.

2 Responses to “Stand Well Back”


  1. 1 Deirdre June 16, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Hello Mrs Danger, that made me laugh.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 158,674 hits

