She Ain’t Heavy…

“It’s okay, she’s my sister!” said big bruv to a concerned looking colleague who had just popped her head in the door of his surgery to say goodnight. The sight of my brother astride me in the dental chair and pointing his iPhone into my mouth must have looked a little odd from behind, but bruv was determined to get a good photo of the mysterious swollen entity which has set up home in my palate recently. The antibiotics have failed to shift it, so it’s time for a referral to the hospital to find out what’s going on.

“So, er, what will they actually do?” I asked with slight trepidation, hoping for a cheery description of some high-tech NASA imaging scenario (sans hearing aid this time of course), followed by a quick jab of Novocaine and a light brush with tweezers. Sadly, the answer was slightly less attractive. To my horror it contained the words ‘incision’, ‘flap’ and ‘exposed bone’ all in the one sentence.

I’m assured it won’t hurt a bit. Hmmm

2 Responses to “She Ain’t Heavy…”


  1. 1 cyborg in a field July 15, 2011 at 8:49 am

    ouch. Hope you got it sorted. Deaf and with a strange speech impediment. Oh your students must love ya 😉

    • 2 moiradancer July 15, 2011 at 12:05 pm

      still waiting for an appointment, but fortunately it seems to be clearing up on its own now…just as well, I’m not in any hurry for this one!

      My lifelong ambition to blend anonymously into the background is increasingly under threat these days it seems, but at least my colleagues are delighted to have me around whenever they need to appear normal. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,324 hits

