Running Up That Hill

View from Suidhe hill looking out over Kilchattan Bay

During an unexpected break in the holiday rain today, the spouse and I decided to get a nice bit of exercise by climbing the nearby Suidhe hill. Suidhe (pronounced ‘suey’) is Gaelic for ‘seat’, and I certainly needed one by the time I got to the top, since it’s extremely steep and the path was horribly slippy after all the rain. There was a dramatic moment on an almost vertical stretch near the top, where I didn’t have enough strength to get my left leg completely over a wooden fence and became stuck in a very undignified splits position, as the the right leg slid back down the hill. In order to release me, the spouse had to lift the leg off the fence for me, but he confirmed it was a very heavy leg, so I didn’t feel so bad at not being able to lift it myself.

Once at the top, the effort turned out to be well worth it, since the panoramic view from the trig point at the summit is absolutely stunning. The sun even came out, and as the clouds parted, I spotted the distant shores of Inellen on the horizon and gave Soozie cyborginafield a wave. I don’t think she saw me, though.

2 Responses to “Running Up That Hill”


  1. 1 cyborginafield August 7, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Oh yeah thought there was something oot there that was catching my eye that day! Next time shout, I might hear ya 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 160,826 hits

