Up, Up and Away

It has been rather dramatic behind the scenes at Cookie Bite HQ over the last week or so, causing me to be a little scarce on these pages lately. Fortunately, all is now well, and at the weekend, the spouse and I retreated to the Buteshack for some much needed contemplative calm. We had been sad to have missed the previous weekend’s Baird of Bute Event, celebrating the 1910 flight of Andrew Baird, the Scottish aviation pioneer, but we were delighted to find that the Buteman newspaper had a special photo feature on the festival of all things airborne, including the much discussed hot air balloon flight.

When I got to the Letters to the Editor page, however, I was rather glad that I had missed out on the festival. It turned out that the high winds which had caused difficulty for the Edinburgh University Hot Air Balloon had also brought a touch of unexpected drama to the Kite Flying event. A concerned participant described from her own experience how it was marred for some people by ‘kite lines made from fishing lines catching on various body parts; One whipped round my ear; one round my friend’s neck, and I was told of one lady’s specs being pulled off.’  Apparently the incident was reported to Pat of Port Bannatyne Post Office, but he denied all responsibility.

I heaved a sigh of relief that my own body parts, including the famous left ear, had been well out of harm’s way at the time. I wouldn’t have fancied having to explain to the NHS hearing aid clinic that its property had been carried off by a kite.

4 Responses to “Up, Up and Away”


  1. 1 babs scott October 10, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I find high winds a nightmare but for a slightly different reason; my wonderful hearing aids make me feel like my head is encapsulated inside a giant packet of salt n’ vinegar crisps, the fantastically loud rustling sounds drown out all possibility of meaningful conversation and the irritation factor increases exponentially the harder the wind blows. I have given up wearing the said “aids” in high winds, noisy venues, when I have a cold (it’s that strange feeling of echo inside your own head, freaky!) and much prefer the silence of being a cookie biter. Sometimes it’s just better NOT to hear every little thing.

    • 2 moiradancer October 11, 2011 at 9:58 am

      The wind noise thing is really annoying, especially since the wind cancelling feature cuts all sound (apart from the wind noise) from the aid at the same time, rendering it useless for the purpose of hearing your beloved shout “Watch out for that falling tree!” or whatever. Know what you mean about the silence, Babs. On an aid-less bracing walk along the beach in the howling wind and rain recently, my bat-eared companions were all shouting at the tops of their voices and struggling to hear against the wind and I could hear everyone fine for a change!

  2. 3 babs scott October 11, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Spoke to Kenny today from the living room (he was in the kitchen boiling the kettle). Think he may now have an inkling as to why I always bellow
    ” Wait till I come into the other room” when he tries to hold a conversation with me over the noise of the said kettle, running tap, dishwasher, washing machine, half closed door, ears facing in the wrong direction etc etc. I hope so anyway, then he won’t have me asking up to 3 times “say that again?” in a querulous tone.

    • 4 moiradancer October 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      Michael speaks to me regularly from another room. I don’t answer, on a point of principle, and he doesn’t seem to need one. It’s a marvellous sort of self-selecting system… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 161,637 hits

