Did You Hear Something Just There?

“Oh my god! OH MY GOD! Come quick!” shouted the spouse. I had been having a nice relaxing afternoon at home after the gale force winds currently affecting Scotland had shut the Institute of Artistic Endeavour earlier in the day.

“Oh my god!” I said in agreement, after running to the window.

“Didn’t you hear the noise?” said the spouse, “It was horrifically loud…I thought there had been a car crash!”

I had to admit that I hadn’t heard a thing, but since the hearing aid had been having the day off in the bad weather too, there was no great surprise there. As I scanned the scene, relieved to note that the occupant of the car squashed by the tree was no longer in there, a sudden thought occurred to me. It occurred to the spouse at exactly the same time.

“Wait a minute…where’s the car?”

Fortunately, it’s the red one, but I don’t think our neighbours are going to be too pleased when they get home from work…

6 Responses to “Did You Hear Something Just There?”


  1. 1 Daphne December 9, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    If it is “just” the car and no people harmed, I would say it’s not that bad. 😉 I remember a heavy storm in southern Germany round this time of the year and my uncles going outside to “cut free” the street… The wind is a crazy thing sometimes 😉

  2. 2 moiradancer December 10, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Hi Daphne, we Scots become very excitable at the first sign of dramatic weather reports, and the whole country can grind to a halt because of 2mm of light snow. The wind did us a favour on this occasion, because that tree was far too big and was blocking out all our light in the summer!

  3. 3 maureen December 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    HI Moira and Daphne,

    The recent storm did indeed cause chaos in Glasgow, and it is very fortunate that the tree did not injure anyone when it fell. All sorts of debris flew around my street, and the police advised against all travel, so I just stayed warm and snug under the duvet until the noise abated.

    I am glad the worst of it is over, as I hate to miss my clinic visits, although there would be little I could do if the transport went off, and there were no taxis available. As Moira said, we do tend to grind to a standstill somewhat when the weather is bad!

    Best,
    Maureen.

  4. 5 Deirdre December 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Wow trust you to get a tree down outside the flat. I got home early as the site closed to ensure we all got home safely. Enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at home.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,324 hits

