Christmas Wishes

Merry Christmas everyone!

It’s Christmas Eve, and BatteryBot has been putting the finishing touches to his Christmas tree. I’d been wondering why I’ve been getting through hearing aid domes so fast lately, but I have to admire my little robot friend’s ingenuity in fashioning them into an attractive set of lights. He’s been very excited about Christmas this year, and I even found a tiny letter to Santa in the fireplace this morning.

“Dear Santa”, it said, “please can you get me some proper legs, my wheels keep getting trapped in the gaps in the floorboards. Can I get an I, Robot DVD too, if that’s not too greedy, and please can you persuade my mum not to kill off the Cookie Bite Chronicles so that I can have one last Christmas next year. I love Christmas. I’ll be really, really good, Santa, I promise.”

I felt guilty, and wished I hadn’t opened the letter. “I can give you the first two wishes”, I gulped, “but I’m not sure about the third…”

6 Responses to “Christmas Wishes”


  1. 1 maureen December 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    HI Moira,

    Well, I hope that Santa brings BatteryBot, and you and your family, and indeed all readers of this fine blog, everything that hearts may desire.

    I myself have finished off the last of the decorations within the hoose. I have made some of these myself, as a result of watching one too many episodes of Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas on the telly. In addition, I obtained some ideas from the Sunday supplements.

    First of all I sprayed the bottom of the wee square windows, (are these called Georgian?), with hairspray, then attached cotton wool, pulling the excess off to leave the appearance of snowdrifts. I debated what would look like snowflakes falling, and ended up sticking sweetener tablets to the glass. I thought these would be safer than medication, lest the stickiness ebbs, and a visiting wean swallows one. Nae danger, the extra hold laquer is doing its job!

    Then I made Christmas tree shaped arrangements on the doors with my cards, sticking other things onto the triangle shape to add 3-D interest.

    Then I festooned the bannisters and kitchen cupboards with plentiful garlands, with the result that all looks seasonably festive!

    I am now going to sit in a happy and exhausted heap, and really enjoy the rest of the festive season. The cupboards are full, the hoose is hot, God is in his Heaven, and all manner of thing shall be well!

    Merry Christmas,

    Maureen.

    • 2 moiradancer December 24, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      Wow Maureen, I am picturing a fantastically festive scene there, Kirstie has inspired us all to great feats of creativity! You have put me to shame with your hair lacquer and cotton wool, I got as far as getting the black bin bag with all the Christmas stuff in it out of the cupboard, removing a single bauble for the photoshoot and leaving it all lying, much to the spouse’s dismay.

      Hope you and the weans and the visiting small weans have a fabby festive time, and may all your Christmas wishes come true!

      Merry Christmas,

      Moira

  2. 3 maureen December 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Hi Moira,

    I had a great Christmas with the weans. Yesterday, daughter number 2 hosted a reunion party for her old schoolfriends, who have turned into a charming bunch of young folk. They brought me chocs, flowers, and sent out for a curry. There were at least 20 of them, so it was a big carry oot! The food from the Turban Tandoori was excellent as usual. I had a vegetarian potato and califlower curry, which I really enjoyed!

    The festivities went on into the wee sma’ hours, and many of them accepted the invite to stay the night. They all bounced off in a fleet of taxis today, for more exciting goings on in the town and west end. I think it’s great to be twenty something and full of the joys of life!

    They liked the decorations, to which I had added some photographs of when they were all wee and attending events such as my girl’s birthday party.

    How quickly time passes, and this realisation brings home the truth of the necessity of enjoying every day, particularly during this special time of the year.

    I hope that your New Year plans are going well!

    Best,

    Maureen.

    • 4 moiradancer December 31, 2011 at 9:14 am

      Sounds like a fab Christmas Maureen, your meticulous decorative preparations have paid off! Must be nice having a busy house and everyone round about you for a bit, Christmas is one of the few times we all get to catch up these days. Like you, I’ve been enjoying marvelling at all the comings and goings of my grown up nieces and nephews. I’m ready to turn into a pumpkin when the wee hand on the clock goes past midnight, but the youngsters are all just warming up!

      It’s great fun reminiscing with family at this time of year, and forgetting all about the usual day to day stuff. Having said that, I am currently formulating my new year resolutions, secure in the knowledge that none of them are likely to last more than 24 hours!

      Bute is beckoning for Hogmanay, although the ferries have been disrupted with all the windy weather recently, so I hope we do actually manage to get there. Shall post a pic if we do! Hope your New Year is as much fun as Christmas, and all the best for 2012!

  3. 5 Sara December 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Moira! I have enjoyed reading your blog, it has been nice for me to hear stories from someone with a similar lifestyle and the same hearing problem. I am sure many others feel the same way!

    • 6 moiradancer December 31, 2011 at 9:16 am

      Merry Christmas to you too, Sara, I was thinking of your hearing aid initiation with the girl scouts the other day, when my over-excited young nieces were screeching at the top of their voices with Christmas fever! It’s been nice for me too, knowing that there are others out there who understand what I’m wittering on about, so I really appreciate your comments and everyone else’s. Hope all is well with you and that you have a lovely New Year!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 160,826 hits

