Here, Kitty Kitty…

The spouse and I went to pack up our things after staying overnight at his dad’s, and found a furry interloper on the bed. I now felt glad that I had taken the precaution of hiding the hearing aid in my specs case overnight and removing the bedside water glass.

As I engaged with the highly risky business of stroking Mitzi, my father in-law’s contrary tortoiseshell cat, I kept a close eye out for signs of feline irritation. She usually likes to attack us as we sleep, but experience has shown that a clawed swipe can happen at any time. As I watched her tail and ear movements carefully, I noticed that the fur on her throat was vibrating, and I suddenly remembered that cats purr. Strangely there was no sound coming out of Mitzi.

“Is she purring?” I asked the spouse, “I can’t see her lips moving from here.”

“Yes, quite loudly”, he replied, whilst carefully using the spike of a folded golf umbrella to retrieve his socks from the fur-lined nest Mitzi had kneaded from his clothes.

“Hmmm”, I said thoughtfully, adding cats’ purrs to the list of noises which have disappeared into the Cookie Bite Bermuda Triangle.

With the exception of Smokey, the cat with the world’s loudest purr at 67.7 dB…

8 Responses to “Here, Kitty Kitty…”


  1. 1 Carl Green January 21, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Hello! I have just started reading your blog. What a funny delightful blog it is! I have a cookie bite loss recently diagnosed. I’m in Canada 🙂 Please don’t stop this blog! It’s genius and makes me (others too) smile 🙂

    C

    • 2 moiradancer January 21, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      Hi Carl, lovely to hear from you, you’ve made me smile too on a very dull Saturday! It’s a great compliment when people say they’ve enjoyed reading the blog, I shall have to keep it going now!

      • 3 Carl Green January 21, 2012 at 3:31 pm

        Moira,

        Happy to have made you smile. Trails and tribulations of hearing loss can indeed be very entertaining. It’s nice to be able to read something which sounds (excuse the pun!) so familiar. Keep up the good work!

        Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  2. 4 Laura January 27, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Just discovered your blog. The subtle humor (but not so funny in the heat of the moment) surrounding your not-so-everyday encounters living with the cookie are comissurable (yes, my own word) by those of us with hearing loss, even non-cookie biters. I just had to share the snoring bit with my husband. Keep up the writing. You made my day a bit less lonely & quiet…err…tone-annoyed.

    • 5 moiradancer January 28, 2012 at 7:34 am

      Hi Laura, very nice to hear from you, I’m delighted whenever anyone gets a chuckle of recognition from my ramblings. Together we can redefine the hearing loss lexicon, I rather like ‘tone-annoyed’ as a description of our collective state of hearing! Have you been bitten by the cookie too?

      • 6 Laura January 31, 2012 at 12:54 am

        no, but my 80 y.o. mother has recently! Not sure if I believe it. Dr removed ball of wax & water was still left in her ear when she had the audiogram. She’s going for additional testing.
        I have progressive, bilateral adult on-set sensori-neural hearing loss rated @ severe-profound presently. Got from my dad & share with my older brother (only other sibling). Curious if I passed it on to my kids as @20 & 22, they show no signs, nor my nephew @ 27. Although cookie bite is more likely genetic from what I read? Who knows what stories were fabricated back when my mom was born. Her dad (born 1892) was deaf in one ear, supposedly from falling thru the floor of a house. Wonder if this is why me & sib both got hearing loss, cuz it was probably recessive from both parents’ sides, tho no one ‘fessed up to it. I have heard rumors that the gov. was sterilizing deaf males in the 20’s + 30’s here so perhaps that’s why accidents were blamed.

      • 7 moiradancer January 31, 2012 at 11:29 am

        Hearing loss genes definitely like to share! I keep wondering where mine came from since no one else in my family has anything other than age-related hearing loss, but who knows. That’s a fascinating story about your grandfather, and his deafness being attributed to falling through the floor of a house. Also the conspiracy theory element…suppose we’ll never know. Makes for great family lore, though. I used to endlessly ask my grandma to tell me the story of her cousin, from the 1920s, and how he got his foot trapped in a streetcar track, just as a car was coming along. When I think about it now, he may have been born with a club foot or something, and the accident was a family invention…

      • 8 Laura January 31, 2012 at 4:25 pm

        The club-foot story is a stretch, for sure! My dad’s hearing loss was attributed to him being in a coma for 10 days after a bad car accident when he was 10. Shattered leg had him home-nursed for a good year. He almost lost it, but they had best surgeon in Boston MA save the leg. His hearing loss was not noticeable until early 20’s (fitting with my adult on-set genetic type) but no record in the family hx before him. Due to the 10 yr lag-time, I’d hardly believe the correlation, but if our gov. was truly sterilizing for being HOH, I can see the motivation to fabricate. He was a radio man (morse-code) on a bomber in WWII so it was not bad then but he died almost completely deaf. It would have been better for me to know he had genetic hearing loss than to go on believing that I had caused it myself from Rock & Roll! When my brother noticed it, too, we put 2 & 2 together.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 155,480 hits

