Hearing Aid Superhero

Meet Hearing Aid Avenger. He’s tiny, he’s beige (of course) and it’s his duty to come to my rescue whenever I’m in audiological trouble. He didn’t quite get there in time when I forgot to remove the hearing aid before pouring oil into my ear the other week, but he’s certainly made up for it in the last few days. On Monday, he solved the mystery of why I had been getting feedback and distortion ever since replacing the tube after my ear-oiling exploits. I thought it was something to do with a visible kink in the tube, or the slightly larger dome I had been given, but Hearing Aid Avenger fixed it instantly with an extra turn of the tube. It seemed that I hadn’t screwed it far enough on, because I was worried that it was already so tight that I might twist the hearing aid innards out of their casing by accident.

On Wednesday, I swiped my security fob on the door to our new office space and grimaced, yet again, as the over-loud ‘enter’ beep, followed by the grating squeal of the door hinge sent the hearing aid into its usual two minute round of entrainment meltdown. As I had a nice cup of tea at my desk to get over it, I pondered whether I could fashion a two foot extension wand for my security fob to get my ears further away from the beep. It was certainly possible, I decided, but I would still need to get some WD-40 to silence the squeaky hinge. Just as I was wondering where the nearest hardware store was, there was a protracted bout of hinge squeaking and a colleague’s voice rang out in response to an unheard enquiry from the head of department.

“JUST OILING THIS HINGE FOR MOIRA”, he shouted discreetly down the corridor, “SHE SAYS IT MAKES HER HEARING AID GO FUNNY…”

“Thanks, Hearing Aid Avenger”, I said, “any chance you can do something about that security beep?”

6 Responses to “Hearing Aid Superhero”


  1. 1 Carl Green February 29, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    So finally….I have received my bionic behind the ear manly sized hearing aids! I am super pleased with them! They are of the traditional mould in the ear tube with the thingy behind the ear look. Quite frankly I prefer this than the namby pamby small job I was wearing! Guess what? Even being the same make and model (Oticon Ino) with the same set up, the sound is far clearer! I am very happy! Today I had to leave them at home much to my dismay due to weather. But, as soon as I got home I shoved them in and I am beaming 🙂

    Now, onto the next phase of discovery…what the general public see and think! (i.e will they talk up more now?)

    Moira, they are vented so they really don’t provide “head in a biscuit tin” kind of feeling.

    • 2 moiradancer March 1, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Splendid news Carl, the citizens of Ontario will quake when they see you coming! Interesting that the sound is different again with the same Oticon innards, sounds like you’re going to have fun eavesdropping on conversations two miles away like a proper superhero 😉

      Keep us posted on what happens next!

      I’ve got my ha appointment next week, will let you know how I get on…

  2. 3 Rose March 2, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Most hearing aids are clearer with a thick sound tube than a thin one, it’s just that cosmetic thing again. *sigh*I can’t have thick tubes because I have very sensitive skin and small ears, the thick tubes just saw my ears off my scalp.

    Interesting that your high frequencies bother you too, it seems to be common in us cookie monsters. I have such a high degree of ‘recruitment’ in my high frequencies that I was always asking them to clip more gain off until they ended up suppressing everything and then I couldn’t make sense of any speech at all. Putting the HF back felt like being shot in the eardrum with a BB gun – not an improvement. That’s why Phonak (and a man who can fit them rather than tell me I should get my head rewired so I don’t mind the regular ear-shooting) has been such a life changer for me because they have finally agreed that *moving* the HF sounds is a better option. Even though my hearing is “worse” in the mid section I can make sense of what I hear and I can tolerate hearing it at all. Instead of endlessly clipping and damping the HF sounds I now have them modified and compressed and spat back out again as mid-frequency sounds with whacking gain on them. There is no longer any such thing as a high pitched squealing noise, hurrah!

  3. 4 moiradancer March 2, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    Sounds like an interesting ‘workround’ Rose, glad the pitch shifting is making a difference…must be quite strange at first, though.

    I’ve got spectacular 10dB thresholds at 4 & 8kHz (or at least did, last time they were measured) and I don’t think I’ve got any discernible amplification there at all, which is just as well. I’ve noticed recently that as I grimace in pain when the train screeches into the station every morning (without the aid), everyone else is behaving normally, so there must be some sort of hypersensitivity there. Ironically, I’d always taken that as a sign of my super-sharp hearing, which is probably why it took me so long to realise that the opposite was the case 😦

    In one of my wonky ha settings periods, I think they did actually put some high frequencies in there. It was absolutely devastating, and turned me into a nervous wreck with all the involuntary adrenaline surges at sudden noises. I think it’s why I love the open fit idea and don’t want my good natural high frequency hearing blocked since it serves me pretty well and nobody can tinker with its settings. I’m not looking forward to the forthcoming ravages of presbycusis, though, so I’m going to make hay with my open ears while the sun shines!

  4. 5 Rose March 2, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    You have left me with an enduring image of a lady with hay growing out of her ear, entwined around a hearing aid and reaching to the light of the sun. Which for some reason shines out of the other ear.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

