Siemens v Danalogic: The Pros and Cons

“Oh no…not again!” I exclaimed after going to investigate a high pitched squealing noise and a faint cry of “Help!” coming from the chest of drawers in the bedroom. When I got there, BatteryBot was holding a Danalogic i-FIT 71 with a half open battery door in one hand, and a battery in the other. The only problem was, his hands were no longer attached to his arms. They’d snapped off under the extreme force necessary to open the battery door, and BatteryBot wasn’t happy.

“I’ve broken another finger, I don’t know how they expect old people to get these open”, he said ruefully, as I screwed his hands back on and got him to run his self-testing circuitry protocol to check that everything was working again.

“Pleeeeeeeease can we keep the Chromas instead of these, when you have to give one pair back”, he said, tugging on my heartstrings with his bandaged finger. “The battery doors are much easier to get open.”

“It’s not quite as simple as that,” I said, gently. “I haven’t made my mind up yet, but the Danalogics sound better and they don’t make funny noises or go haywire in response to anything that beeps. They’re great for the piano too. They look marginally nicer and, Iet’s face it, I need all the help I can get in the looks department these days.”

I was still feeling slightly raw after seeing what looked like a shrunken head being interviewed in a student video last week. It had turned out to be me.

“But what about the hissing noise the Danalogics make,” cut in BatteryBot, “you said it was really annoying…and what about the fact they make the back of your ears sore because they grip on really tightly…and, and…”, he was trying to pull out all the stops now, “…and what about the ea-”

“Look.” I said firmly, “Don’t keep going on about the Easter Bunny. We can reshape his head to fit the Danalogics if I have to give the Chromas back to Clinic O. He won’t know any better, he’s only made of Plasticine…oh, sorry, I didn’t mean that the way it sounds”.

It was too late, the damage had been done.

“Well I’m only made out of a kitchen cupboard door latch and some bits the plumber left behind, I hope you don’t talk about me like that”, sobbed BatteryBot.

“Shhhhhhhh! You’re about to short circuit”, I said, noting once more the strange Sean Connery sound of my dental fricatives of late. I leant forward and whispered clandestinely into BatteryBot’s auditory sensors:

“Don’t mention the cupboard door latch on here again. People think you’re a real robot; If this gets out, we’re finished.”

4 Responses to “Siemens v Danalogic: The Pros and Cons”


  1. 1 Eloise May 20, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    So glad to see you’re getting the choice between the brands. I have a pair of the danalogics set as white noise generators for the tinnitus but find the battery doors very easy to open – much easier than my Siemens Impact M’s!

    Best of luck with your final choice! 🙂

    • 2 moiradancer May 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      That’s interesting about the battery doors Eloise, maybe they just vary in stiffness with different batches or summat. It was very good of the audiologist at clinic O to let me choose between the two brands, she’s been very helpful. I’m going back this week, and I think for my sanity I’ll have to go with the non-hissing Siemens Chroma S, despite the overall sound quality of the hissy Danalogics being better…sigh!

      • 3 Eloise May 21, 2012 at 9:55 pm

        Good idea! 🙂 At least you won’t be driven mad by hissing! Don’t worry – a few years down the line technology will have moved on a bit and hopefully the NHS will be able to offer the best sound quality mixed with hiss free aids!

        My impacts aren’t too bad for clarity and music. No hissing either, though I don’t have a cookie bite loss so I probably don’t notice it!

        Just a thought, but do you have the music programme set on the Chromas? If not then I would encourage it. As a musician, I find invaluable for cutting down on distortion!

        😀

      • 4 moiradancer May 22, 2012 at 9:16 am

        I’ve got a music programme on the Chromas, and it definitely gives a much fuller sound to music on the radio and tv, although if an ambulance or anything passes by when I’m on it, I just about have a heart attack 🙂 I’m not sure if it’s just the digital piano that sends the circuitry into meltdown, cos I don’t have an acoustic one to compare with, but the Chroma S certainly beeps and chirps along to any environmental digital beeps, so it may think the piano is feedback. Equally, it may be trying to censor my dodgy playing. If I’m playing loud fast stuff, it partially drowns out the noises from the Chroma S, but on anything slow and sustained it’s unlistenable and I’m better off without it. It’s good that your impacts work for the violin, the only thing the Chromas hate more than the piano is the violin and bagpipes…oh, and flutes 😉


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

