Digital Obsolescence

It was decision time at Clinic O, as I finally handed back the hissing Danalogics and said I’d stick with the faithful, if slightly quirky, Chromas. We’d been through a lot together, me and the Chromas, and I realised I’d come to love their classic beige NHS orthotic styling and big comfy domes. I was now looking forward to a few final adjustments to sort out my slobbery dental fricatives, before waving goodbye to Clinic O and wandering off into the audiological sunset.

The very nice senior audiologist totally understood the reasons for my decision, but wasn’t as elated as I thought she might be at the prospect of not seeing my name in the appointment book every five minutes.

“Those Chromas are getting pretty obsolete now, you know…it’s not really ideal”, she said pensively, whilst beheading the Danalogics and handing me back the worryingly large stash of ReSound leatherette pouches and unused wax picking accoutrements that I’d amassed from my frequent visits over the last few months.

“I had a word with my boss before you came in”, she continued, “there are still a couple of options left if you want to try them?”

“Tell me more…” I said, leaning forward with interest.

5 Responses to “Digital Obsolescence”


  1. 1 Eloise June 9, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Ooh, leaving us on a bit of a cliffhanger! What other options are available, then? 😉

    • 2 moiradancer June 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      The audiologist I’ve seen the last few times has been incredibly helpful, and was as disappointed as I was that the hiss problem couldn’t be solved. Apparently they’re allowed to order a small quota of aids outside of the Danalogic contract, so I’m going to try another one next week to see if it’s any better than my old faithfuls. I’ve only had them for a couple of years, but I guess the technology’s twice as old, so it would be ancient by the time I qualify for another upgrade in a few years. Plus there’s every chance that the upgrade would be Danalogics again, and they just don’t work for me, sadly.

      The new one’s an Oticon of some description and looks like a Spirit Zest from the photos I’ve seen. It’s been written in my notes that they’ve not to take the Siemens Chromas off me until I’ve tried out the Oticons, which makes all the difference, so at least I’ve got a backup this time if it all goes horribly wrong!

  2. 3 Eloise June 11, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Oh that’s really good news! I’m so glad you’re being given the treatment you deserve. In the meantime, are you enjoying stereo sound? 😉

    • 4 moiradancer June 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      I LOVE stereo sound Eloise! Amongst other things, it’s made a huge difference to my sound localisation when doing group discussions at work, so I’m delighted with that. I’m so glad that everyone on here encouraged me to chase up the second aid, and I’d definitely recommend that anyone else who’s only got one aid but would benefit from two does the same. Two ears are definitely better than one!

      • 5 Eloise June 11, 2012 at 10:21 pm

        That’s so, so good to hear! (excuse the pun!!) Wishing you all the best on the next part of your journey 🙂 And I know you’ll keep us updated on how everything goes over the next month or two! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,526 hits

