Woman hears at station ticket office for the first time

Hearing loop symbol

Sadly, the title is slightly misleading. The new loop setting on the Oticons has given me superpowers of hearing, but not quite in the way I imagined. In telecoil mode, there is much excitement to be had in hearing the interference from invisible electromagnetic fields, and so far nothing sounds scarier than the sinister buzzing from 25 000 volts of overhead power lines in a train station, although the electricity meter in the hall cupboard at home runs a close second. I’ll be checking out some pylons when we go on the annual field trip to Loch Lomond later in the week.

I had hoped that the loop might prove useful for the more prosaic purpose of hearing through bullet-proof glass screens at ticket offices, etc, but I have not yet detected the sound of a human voice in that particular situation. I came close at Wemyss Bay train station last week, when I spotted the big ear sign at the ticket counter, and eagerly flipped my switches. Finding my first loop which was actually switched on was a breakthrough, and it was worth switching the spouse off temporarily to take advantage of it. I willed the magical words “That’ll be £6.70 each for two singles, doll” to be beamed straight into my brain via telecoil, but you can imagine my disappointment when I heard the faintly amplified sound of the ticket machine printheads going about their business instead. Fortunately, the thrill of hearing the electromagnetic field of the overhead power lines for the first time more than made up for it.

My tireless quest to hear a ticket transaction through a hearing loop will go on, but in the meantime, I shall continue to amaze people with my superpower ability to identify electric fences whilst out walking in the countryside.

5 Responses to “Woman hears at station ticket office for the first time”


  1. 1 Melissa October 5, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    I’m new to hearing aids. I pick up my first ever brand new phonak hearing aids on Monday!! I have no idea what half of what you talk about on your blog IS but it’s fascinating to me all the same

    • 2 moiradancer October 5, 2013 at 5:00 pm

      Don’t you worry Melissa, once you pick up your new aids some of it might make more sense 😉 Seriously though, hope all goes well with the fitting of your lovely Phonaks (many on here will be highly envious!) and fear not, most of my ramblings make the whole process sound a lot more dramatic than it actually is. Once you’ve got your hearing aids, you’ll not want to be without them. Have fun listening with your new ears on Monday!

  2. 3 sian October 11, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    So good to feel not alone in the crazy world of ‘ears’

  3. 4 Beth Gobble November 5, 2013 at 2:42 am

    LOVE the LOOP!! For some unknown reason, I purchased my last pair of hearing aids WITHOUT a t-coil. I should have known better as they are my 3rd pair!! My hearing aid guy did however locate a bluetooth streamer that has the t-coil inside it so I am able to utilize the Loop system at our church. (It helps to be the “preacher’s wife” when you’re asking the church to spend a few thousand bucks on something only I seem to be using right now.) The streamer hangs around my neck on a special cord and It works fairly well but ONLY if I hold it at just the right angle. Otherwise I hear a very annoying buzz.
    I’ve yet to remember to take it to a movie theater so I don’t know how it works anywhere else. It streams my cell phone too which allows me to hear a conversation in stereo – totally COOL!!

    • 5 moiradancer November 6, 2013 at 4:59 pm

      Hi Beth,

      good to hear the streamer is doing its job in the absence of t-coils in your aids, must make all the difference in a reverberant church setting. Bet there are a few incognito loop users in the congregation too, if they’ve discovered you’ve got a loop that works!

      My own search for the ultimate loop listening scenario continues. It struck me today that if only Apple put t-coils in i-Pods, I could make announcements to my students while they’re working and actually be heard 😉


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 157,291 hits

