No Greater Love…

i heart hearing aids

“This is all your fault!” I shouted at the spouse on the station steps, “If you hadn’t decided to get the same train as me this morning, I wouldn’t have forgotten to put my hearing aids in!

The spouse took a deep breath. Now was not the time for him to question the logic of this last statement.

“…Today of all days,” I ranted on, “I can’t be late for the assessments… and I need to hear what’s being said!”

“Do you want to go back and get them?” interjected the spouse rather sensibly. “We can just get a taxi into work instead.”

I hesitated slightly at the attractiveness of this proposition, but decided to take a more hormonally irrational approach.

“No.” I said, “I’ve managed to get by without the damn things for forty-odd years, and I bloody hate taxis.” A vibration on the metal steps underfoot spurred me into action. “Hurry up!” I snapped,  “we need to get tickets, I can hear the train coming…”

The spouse rolled his eyes as he watched a dustbin lorry rumble past. It didn’t sound anything like a train to him.

Half an hour later, as everyone gathered with their clipboards in the studio at work, my heart sank as I realised I couldn’t make out the pre-assessment chit-chat. I felt a pang of remorse and wished I’d listened to the spouse on the station steps instead of shouting at him. Why hadn’t I just gone back to get the bloody aids when I had the chance? What an idiot. This was going to be a very long day.

Just as the assessment proceedings were finally about to get underway, the studio door opened and the spouse appeared. What was he doing here? He was supposed to be hanging an exhibition in another building…I was confused. Heads turned as he strode in and handed me a tiny plastic snack box. I couldn’t believe it. This was either the smallest packed lunch of all time, or…

“My hearing aids!” I exclaimed, as I noisily snapped the box open in front of my curious colleagues, “Thanks Hun!”

Unbeknownst to me, the spouse had waved me off at the entrance to work and gone all the way back home to fetch my ear gear. Even after being shouted at.

If I hadn’t already married him, dear readers, I’d have decided to marry him on the spot.

5 Responses to “No Greater Love…”


  1. 1 Deirdre May 31, 2015 at 9:25 am

    Great story and awe how good is he……I hope to think David would do that for me………..hmm not convinced😊

  2. 2 BadBunnyEars July 1, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    I have my NHS aids, at last.
    They are a pair of Oticon spirit synergy.
    But you aren’t going to love me, they are PURPLE!

    • 3 moiradancer July 2, 2015 at 9:22 am

      Fabulous news, especially on the colour front, I was beginning to suspect that it was an urban myth that you could get a choice. Don’t worry though, should you ever tire of wearing an uplifting colour, you can always make a pair of beige covers to stand out from the crowd.

      How are your aids working out for you so far, are the fish still breathing in their tank?

  3. 4 BadBunnyEars July 4, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    Colour choice may be an ‘urban myth’, ‘Rural Rumors’ are more likely round here. Our shire county hospital offers a choice without you asking.

    Fish are surviving, just. Their on/off cooling fan is going to have to be reprogrammed.

    However, I can now hear daughters in the car, have the tennis at a sensible volume and the university open day talk was almost too loud. (lovely older lecturer, who actually knew how to speak to the whole room)

    Campus tour was hell, various stands, student radio, in particular, trying to drown out everyone else.

    Typing this is horrible, I thought this old key board had a nice soft click. It doesn’t!

    • 5 moiradancer July 5, 2015 at 5:18 pm

      Good to hear that your aids are making a difference, and you’ll find that a lot of the sounds you notice at the start of wearing them will become a lot less annoying over time, even clicky keyboards.

      I’m the quietest typist in the office these days, but sadly it makes no odds when everyone round about hammers away at their laptops as if they are bashing the keys of a 1950s manual typewriter…


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 159,566 hits

